Knee problems Part 1: What is going on with my Knee?

Personal Note: About a month ago, I was moving some boxes from one location to another in the trunk on my car. Due to bad traffic, I had to make a couple of quick movements. This, in turn, caused all the boxes to shift. So, when I opened my trunk, a box came out, slammed into my knee and dropped to my foot. I’m accident prone, so I’m used to getting injured, but this brought tears to my eyes.

Over the course of the next week, a fluid-filled egg formed on my right knee. There was no pain and minimal bruising, so I thought nothing of it. Usually swelling goes away on its own…right?

Well, it didn’t.  Three days ago, I had to kneel to do something and I felt a small click in my bad knee. The egg shrank as the fluid rushed down to my foot inside my leg.

Immediately, I administered RICE:

  • Rest
  • Ice
  • Compression
  • Elevation

With the elevation, the fluid drained from my foot, back to the lymph node behind my knee. As it started to ache, I did minor lymphatic drainage. Hooray for me, that worked!

The hole that formed in the egg must have resealed itself, because the fluid came back and puffed up my knee once again. Now, there’s minor pain and my gait (walking pattern) is off.

Thank goodness for my doctor.  She diagnosed me with “Inflammation of the Infrapatellar Bursa.”

 

Knee

Bursa

According to WebMD“The bursa is a sac filled with lubricating fluid, located between tissues such as bone, muscle, tendons, and skin, that decreases rubbing, friction, and irritation.”  It acts like the discs in your spine, to protect your joints from impact and from friction against internal structures.

Knee-pain-explained.com says that the knee has 14 Bursa total, including 5 in the front, which are the most likely to take damage:

  1. Prepatellar Bursa: Right on the kneecap (Patella).  Those who are on their knees for a long time usually develop problems here.
  2. Deep and Superficial Infrapatellar Bursa: Two Bursa which are below the knee to protect the tendon that moves the kneecap during walking.  The pronoun “infra,” in medical terms, means “below.”
  3. SupraPateller Bursa: This is above the kneecap at the base of the thigh.  In medical terms, “supra” means “above.”
  4. Pes Anserine Bursa: Found on the inner side of the knee between several thigh-to-knee structures.

Shoulders, Elbows, and Hips are also common places to find Bursa.

 

file000311361753

Bursitis

Bursitis is simply inflammation of the Bursa.

Personal Note: Anytime you see/hear “itis” in the word, it usually means something is inflammed.

Impacts, whether over long term, or sudden (like mine) can cause Bursitis.  Certain illnesses or infections can cause inflammation.  Age can also be a factor, especially for those who don’t exercise enough.

Symptoms include:

 

(Sorry for the video being so large.  I couldn’t get the size any smaller)

Leave a Reply

